Get Adobe Flash player

Government of Angola

Head of State: President José Eduardo dos Santos

Vice-President: Manuel Domingos Vicente

Type of Government: Democratic Republic

Parliament (National Assembly): 220 Seats (single chamber)

Political system: Multi-party democracy

Main political parties: MPLA, UNITA, CASA CE, PRS, FNLA.

Political / Administrative division: 18 provinces

Bengo, Benguela, Bié, Cabinda, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Kuando Kubango, Kwanza Norte, Kwanza Sul, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uíje, Zaire

Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)

National holiday: January 1 (New Year),February 4 (Liberation Movement Day ),March 8 (International Women's Day), March 8 (International Women's Day), April 4 (Peace Day),May 1 (International Labour Day), September 17 (National Heroes' Day), November 2 (Memorial Day), November 11 (Independence Day), December 25 (Christmas Day).

Constitution: 11 November 1975; revised 7 January 1978, 11 August 1980, 6 March 1991, and 26 August 1992, 2004 and 2010.

Legal  system: Based on Portuguese civil law and customary law; with new laws reflecting Angolan realities and requirements and accommodating political pluralism and increased free market economy.

Download: Constitution law (Only in Portuguese)